Fashion · Inspirational · Winter

The Navy Blue Coat

fullsizerenderWell, winter has arrived in America’s Heartland, and with force.  Over two months ago, I prayed for a new coat. I don’t know, I just really wanted a wool, navy blue, double-breasted coat. Like a peacoat of sorts, you know? I’ve always had these puffer things. It seemed kind of ridiculous at the time though, so many other things going on in the world that are so very important.

Anyway, I thought of it a few times more. I reminded God twice perhaps, but just prayed once. I have coats. I didn’t need it. My heart just really wanted it as,  I’d finally found my own sense of style over the last two years. Unlike others, fashion has never come easy for me, until lately when I learned to simply wear what I love.  All my other coats are just…bought. Owned for years, and I’d traded them all for the navy one I imagined, but had never actually “seen.”

So, casually wandering the store at the mall, I just happened to pass it, stuck oddly near the end of a rack. Caught it out of the corner of my eye. The only one, $11 marked down too.  Right in the store I sucked my breath in and “I prayed for this!” slipped out. A few people looked over. I didn’t care.

It’s just what I imagined. Perfect fit.

It was then I thought of Psalm thirty-seven, verse four.

Delight yourself in the Lordand he will give you the desires of your heart…  

When we truly try to put Him first, care for  what weighs on the heart of our King, it is so much easier to find Him in the every-day.  I just stood there for a moment taking in how I’m seen and heard and cared for in such little things. A simple coat, yet at last one I actually love to wear. I can’t even… He loves us and what matters to our hearts, matters to His.  Navy blue wool for the win.

 

Leave a Reply

