Inspirational · Writing

The Happy Planner

happyplannerJust finished working Etsy for the evening and I’m sitting here staring at the first planner I’ve bought in twenty years. I don’t know what I was thinking. Just noticed it says “me and my big ideas” on the bottom left corner. Me, sarcastic? Never. {smile}

Well, I normally don’t do note-planning it at all, be it electronically or otherwise. I just remember everything, but it comes at a price.

See, I honestly bought it in a moment of feeling I needed a brain dump. We clean our closets, garages, attics from too much stuff. I saw it, waiting on a long Christmas line and suddenly thought my imagination may have more room to breathe if I could free some space. God, you know He wrote things down.  

And he gave to Moses, when he had finished speaking with him on Mount Sinai, the two tablets of the testimony, tablets of stone, written with the finger of God.  Exodus 31:18

Ahead, the line was moving so slowly and my mind wandered to the finger of God, so purposefully carving His expectations for Israel into tablets of stone.  He cared enough to write it down, so as to keep it from being forgotten, questioned.  All the more, a bit of time to release our thoughts, our requirements from day-to-day onto paper would do us much good.

What a sure way to make room for the King of Glory in our imagination, dreams and routine – room for more of His thoughts than our own.

Just came together, waiting there on line.  It’s pretty.  And so I bought it, to cut myself loose. 

~E.W.

Leave a Reply

