Animals · Inspirational

Suspicious Minds

My dog. You know, I decided to bless her with all the scraps from brunch this morning. I’ve known her all her life, what she loves, hates, craves… And still, she’ll sniff at each scrap as if it’s toxic waste before letting it touch her lips. I’m standing there thinking, I KNOW you, why would I ever give you something awful, how do you not trust me after all these years and all the incredibly awesome food I’ve given you?

It’s aggravating, standing there waiting for her to absorb a blessing with my outstretched arm beginning to tire. But then, I look in her eyes and cannot help but love her. And oddly, this is what has kept my 11-year relationship with her endearing – always seeking new ways to help her trust me more deeply and her, finding new ways to surprise me. Was just thinking you know, God must have similar feelings with us when we let ourselves get in the way…

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”  Jeremiah 29:11 nlt

~E.W.

Leave a Reply

